patanjali’s 8-limbs of yoga


4. Pranayama: Breath Control

Intentional regulation and control of breath in order to harness and increase prana (lifeforce/energy) within the body


5. Pratyahara: Control of the senses

“You cannot always control the external world but by mastering the senses, you control your responses and reactions to it” – Dr Senthil Kumar (Yoga Master)
Withdrawing your attention from the external environment and investing those energies towards the internal environment.


3. Asanas: Body postures

“Sthira Sukham Asanam”
Asana is perfect firmness of body, steadiness of mind and benevolence of spirit
Asanas should be practised with peace, awareness and concentration engaging intelligence and spirit in order to emanate the essence of yoga.


6. Dharana: Concentration and cultivating inner awareness

“Desa Bandhah cittasya dharana”
When the constantly moving mind and body stop to focus attention on one chosen point within or outside the body, this is Dharana.


2. Niyama: Personal conduct

Isvara Prantidhari: Acknowlegment of the universal force
Svadhyaya: Spiritual Exploration and self-study
Sauca: Purity and Cleanliness
Santosha: Contentment and Happiness
Tapah: Dedication and Discipline


7. Dhyana: Meditation

“Tatra pratyaya eka tanatat dhyanam”
The continuous, undisturbed flow of attention directed at one focus point is meditation.


1. Yama: Social moral conduct

Ahimsa: Non-violence
Aparigraha: Non-greed, detachment and
non-accumulation of unnecessary material possessions
Satya: Truthfulness
Asteya: Non-stealing
Brahmacharya: Respect for your sexual energy, with modest and restrained behaviour


8. Samahdi: Enlightenment

The attainment of absolute bliss as there is no longer a separation between the individual soul and the soul of the universe. All is one.